MTV World Stage : Interview with Pixie Lott

What is it like being Pixie Lott – 18-year-old pop star and already with a #1 hit, Mama Do, under her belt and a much anticipated studio album on the way?
It’s been an exciting and crazy experience so far. I get to travel the world a fair bit and meet my fans from all around. I do miss my friends back home though, and I cannot wait to go back and hang out with them!
Why Pixie Lott?
It’s a baby name my mom gave me when I was borned. I was such a tiny little thing! And the name just sort of stuck around.
How does it feel like being the one female and solo performer at the MTV World Stage?
Haha, it was quite a wonderful and fun experience altogether, especially to share the stage with such amazing bands. I’ve also gotten compliments from fans, so that’s always nice!
Did you enjoy any of the performers last night?
I thought All-American Rejects were good. And it was also nice to see Raygun perform, mainly because we’re from the same country.
Did you have a chance to hang out with the other bands?
No, not really. The schedule is pretty tight for me and there is barely time for me to take a breather. I had to skip the after party because I’ve already made plans to meet up with a friend of mine in Malaysia for sushi. After the show, my parents and I were already craving for food so we just skipped all the hoorah to have a little quiet time. But I’ve met Tyson Ritter of All-American Rejects before, so it was great to see him again here.
You started off your career as an actress in shows and plays like West End’s Chitty Chitty Bang Bang and Celebrate the Sound of Music. How has that helped you with your music career now?
It has helped me a lot in the sense of performing to a massive audience. I’ve learned how to keep my nerves in check. It doesn’t get too stressed out about singing in front of a big audience because I’ve kind of done that before already. So, it’s all pretty much natural to me.
Any plans of going back to the theatrical roots?
Sure, why not? I’d like to perform in a play for Chicago.
At only 18, your music career has kicked off quite early in life. Do you ever worry that things will get jaded for you by the time you hit your 20s, like how it was for Britney Spears?
Nah, that doesn’t concern me, really. My label and parents keep a stern eye on me, and I’m confident they will not let me walk down that road. It’s really a matter of choice when it comes to these kinds of things. I grew up in a neighbourhood that breeds such bad influences and vices, but drugs do not really appeal to me.
So, when you’re not performing on stage, what are you doing during her free time?
Sleep. I need lots of sleep! And also hang out with my friends – go watch a movie, shopping or clubbing.
You mentioned hanging out with your friends a lot. Do they treat you any differently now that you’re famous?
Not really. I have been friends with them way before I became famous, and I don’t think they treat me any differently now. But they’re supportive of my career. They go to all of my shows in the UK.
Being only 18 and underage, do you ever have any problems getting into clubs despite your fame?
Sometimes. A lot of times I tag along with my elder sister, and she could bring me in. That’s the good thing about having an older sister. There were a few times when my friends and I would dress up and all, but they’d get turned away. So, it’s one of those moments when I get to laugh at their faces because I get to go in, but they can’t!
But I’ve also gotten into trouble a few times. I was pulled out of the club, and once, I even had my sister’s passport confiscated! She was so angry and didn’t speak to me for weeks. But that’s how our relationship goes. I have a love/hate relationship with her, like all siblings do. But she’s still one of my best friends.
After your performance at MTV World Stage, I’m sure there are a few fans out there developing a celebrity crush on you. Do you have any celebrity crushes yourself?
I kind of have a crush on Robert Pattinson and Zac Efron. I don’t know them in person but Pattinson as Edward Cullen (in Twilight) seems like a kind and strong character, and Efron as Troy Bolton (in High School Musical) is a very nice and kind person.
Since we’re on the topic of guys, how can a guy grab your attention?
The guy would have to have the same interest as me, and he has to be funny too. To me, it’s important to be in the same wavelength with each other to make the relationship work.
Do you have a special someone waiting for you back home?
Haha, no. But I do have a few options.
Who are your music influences?
Mariah Carey and Whitney Houston. When I was young, I would put their music on full blast and sing along to them in the living room!
What’s playing on your iPod right now?
Currently, I’m listening to Kings of Leon and MGMT.
You look great in your music videos, Mama Do and Boys and Girls. Do you have a workout plan you stick to?
Haha, thanks. But unfortunately, no. There hasn’t been enough time for me to hit the gym because my schedule has been so tight. I just make sure I consume a lot of healthy food in my diet. I take Vitamin Cs, and fruits – probably a little too much of that, but I just love fruits. Also, plenty of water and peppermint tea. And also to warm up my vocals before hitting the stage every night.
Your debut album, Turn it Up, is dropping into stores on September 14, which is less than a month away. What would you be doing the night before your album is released?
I’m not sure how’s the schedule going to be for me that night, but I’m sure it’s going to be a riot. But if there’s nothing work-related going on, I’d do something as normal as hanging out with my friends. Maybe dress up and head out for a party just to get it out of the system.
Tell us a bit about the album.
It’s up tempo and fun while showing a more serious side of me. It’s an album that portrays the different sides and personalities I have. I try to have as much diversity as I can in the album, and not have one song sounding exactly like the other. It’s my debut album, so I’d definitely want it to be one that will grab people’s attention.
What will you be turning up exactly?
The vibe. The feel. I’d definitely be turning it up loud because loud music is always the best!
You did a cover of OneRepublic’s Apologize and Kings of Leon’s Use Somebody. Are there any songs out there that you wished you’ve penned down first instead?
I’d have to say Love Come Down by Evelyn King. How I wish I’ve written that first!
Finally, in three words, how would you describe your music style?
I’d have to say: fresh, soulful and contemporary.

I will let you in on a secret. Before Pixie Lott arrived for her interview with us, we at the table shared a little info one of us overheard that she is a little bit of an airhead. Did she prove us wrong on that? Well.

Granted the interview was in the afternoon the next day after MTV World Stage, and we were all still tired from the stalkarazzi and the quarter day standaround we did during the concert, she was pretty – nice. Most of the time.

Very much like Raygun, being kind in answering the questions we bombarded her. But it was not rocket science that she was pooped and would like to hop on a plane and head back to the UK to see her friends, which she mentioned more often than not throughout the interview.

Why Pixie Lott?
It’s a baby name my mom gave me when I was born. I was such a tiny little thing! And the name just sort of stuck around.

How does it feel like being the one female and solo performer at the MTV World Stage?
Haha, it was quite a wonderful and fun experience altogether, especially to share the stage with such amazing bands. I’ve also gotten compliments from fans, so that’s always nice!

Did you enjoy any of the performers last night?
Erm, to be honest, I thought they were pretty much the same thing, what with the rock music and tight jeans and all. Heh. But I thought All-American Rejects were good. And it was also nice to see Raygun perform, mainly because we’re from the same country.

Did you have a chance to hang out with the other bands?
No, not really. The schedule is pretty tight for me and there is barely time for me to take a breather. I had to skip the after party because I’ve already made plans to meet up with a friend of mine in Malaysia for sushi. But I’ve met Tyson Ritter of All-American Rejects before, so it was great to see him again here.

At only 18, your music career has kicked off quite early in life. Do you ever worry that things will get jaded for you by the time you hit your 20s, like how it was for Britney Spears?
Nah, that doesn’t concern me, really. My label and parents keep a stern eye on me, and I’m confident they will not let me walk down that road. It’s really a matter of choice when it comes to these kinds of things. I grew up in a neighbourhood that breeds such bad influences and vices, but drugs do not really appeal to me.

So, when you’re not performing on stage, what are you doing during her free time?
Sleep. I need lots of sleep! And also hang out with my friends – go watch a movie, shopping or clubbing.

Being only 18 and underage, do you ever have any problems getting into clubs despite your fame?
Sometimes. A lot of times I tag along with my elder sister, and she could bring me in. That’s the good thing about having an older sister. There were a few times when my friends and I would dress up and all, but they’d get turned away. So, it’s one of those moments when I get to laugh at their faces because I get to go in, but they can’t!

After your performance at MTV World Stage, I’m sure there are a few fans out there developing a celebrity crush on you. Do you have any celebrity crushes yourself?
I kind of have a crush on Robert Pattinson and Zac Efron. I don’t know them in person but Pattinson as Edward Cullen seems like a kind and strong character, and Efron as Troy Bolton is a very nice and kind person.

Since we’re on the topic of guys, how can a guy grab your attention?
The guy would have to have the same interest as me, and he has to be funny too. To me, it’s important to be in the same wavelength with each other to make the relationship work.

Do you have a special someone waiting for you back home?
Haha, no. But I do have a few options.

Your debut album, Turn it Up, is dropping into stores on September 14, which is less than a month away. What would you be doing the night before your album is released?
I’m not sure how’s the schedule going to be for me that night, but I’m sure it’s going to be a riot. But if there’s nothing work-related going on, I’d do something as normal as hanging out with my friends. Maybe dress up and head out for a party just to get it out of the system.

Tell us a bit about the album.
It’s up tempo and fun while showing a more serious side of me. It’s an album that portrays the different sides and personalities I have. I try to have as much diversity as I can in the album, and not have one song sounding exactly like the other. It’s my debut album, so I’d definitely want it to be one that will grab people’s attention.

What will you be turning up exactly?
The vibe. The feel. I’d definitely be turning it up loud because loud music is always the best!

You did a cover of OneRepublic’s Apologize and Kings of Leon’s Use Somebody. Are there any songs out there that you wished you’ve penned down first instead?
I’d have to say Love Come Down by Evelyn King. How I wish I’ve written that first!

Here is Mama Do, featured on her upcoming album, Turn It Up.

Final instalment of MTV World Stage. Hope you all enjoyed. I shall crawl back to my hole now.

++
Also check out:
MTV World Stage : Interview with Raygun
MTV World Stage : Interview with Stank
MTV World Stage “Live in Malaysia”
MTV World Stage : Backstage

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

